Google’s Location History

locations

About Location Reporting & History

Location Reporting allows Google to periodically store and use your device’s most recent location data, as well as activities like driving, walking, and biking, in connection with your Google Account. Location Reporting is a per-device setting.

Location History allows Google to store a history of your location data from all devices where you are logged into your Google Account and have enabled Location Reporting. You can view and manage your Location History at the Location History website. You can turn off Location History at any point, but doing so won’t delete your Location History. It also will not turn off Location Reporting, GPS or Wi-Fi location services for your device.

Location History and Location Reporting data may be used by any Google app or service. For example, Google Maps may use it to improve your search results based on the places that you’ve been. If Location Reporting is not available in your region, it’s automatically turned off for that device.

The Location History website is not launched in Korea.

Manage location access, Location Reporting, & Location History

Important: Location access in Google Settings is available on devices running Android 4.1 to Android 4.3. Location Reporting and Location History in Google Settings are available on devices running Android 4.0 and higher and have Google Maps for mobile version 7.0 and higher installed.

Google Settings (in your device’s apps menu) allows you to manage location access for Google apps. You can also turn Location Reporting and Location History on and off in Google Settings, as well as view Location History on a mobile device or computer using the Location History website.

If you’re using a Google Apps for Business, Education, and Government account, your administrator may need to grant you access to these settings.

ACCESS LOCATION

Important: This setting is only on devices running Android 4.3 or lower. It isn’t on Nexus devices running Android 4.4.

You can control how Google apps use your location with one easy setting — without affecting access by non-Google apps. To do so, follow these steps:

  1. Open Google Settings from your device’s apps menu.
  2. Touch the box next to Access location. The setting turns off when the checkmark disappears.

You can turn this setting back on at any time in Google Settings.

Important: This setting only controls Google apps; if you turn this setting off, Google services that aren’t apps and non-Google apps may receive your location from the device.

LOCATION REPORTING

  1. Open Google Settings from your device’s apps menu:
  • Devices running Android 4.3 or lower: Touch Location > Location Reporting.
  • Devices running Android 4.4: Touch Location > Location services > Google Location Reporting > Location Reporting.
  1. Slide the switch ON or OFF.

LOCATION HISTORY

  1. Open Google Settings from your device’s apps menu.
  • Devices running Android 4.3 or lower: Touch Location > Location History.
  • Devices running Android 4.4: Touch Location > Location services > Google Location Reporting > Location History.
  1. Slide the switch ON or OFF.

To turn Location History on or off using the Location History website, follow these steps:

  1. Visit maps.google.com/locationhistory.
  2. Sign in to the Google Account you want associated with your location.
  3. Click the Gear icon, then select History settings.
  4. Choose Enable or Disable, then Save.

Important: If you turn off Location History, it’s turned off for all devices associated with that Google Account.

Location Reporting updates

Note: Location Reporting can potentially use a lot of data. Reviewing your data plan is recommended before using this feature.

To stop Location Reporting, open Google Settings in your device’s apps menu:

  • Devices running Android 4.3 or lower: Touch Location > Location Reporting.
  • Devices running Android 4.4: Touch Location > Location services > Google Location Reporting > Location Reporting.

The Location Reporting update frequency isn’t a fixed amount of time. The update frequency is determined by several factors, such as how much battery life your device has, if you are moving, or how fast you are moving. Location Reporting will only use cell ID or Wi-Fi location detection depending on your device.

Delete Location History

You can delete your Location History in Google Settings (in your device’s apps menu) or by visiting the Location History website.

DELETE LOCATION HISTORY FROM GOOGLE SETTINGS

  1. Open Google Settings from your device’s apps menu:
  • Devices running Android 4.3 or lower: Touch Location > Location History.
  • Devices running Android 4.4: Touch Location > Location services > Google Location Reporting > Location History.
  1. Touch Delete Location History at the bottom of the screen.

Important: If you delete Location History from Google Settings, all of your history will be deleted. This can’t be reverted, and it may cause some apps like Google Now to experience problems. To delete certain segments of your history, follow the steps below to remove it using the Location History website.

DELETE LOCATION HISTORY FROM THE LOCATION HISTORY WEBSITE

Go to the Location History website and select a date where you have Location History to delete it in one of the following ways:

  • Entire history: Select Delete all history to delete all stored history.
  • By date: Choose Delete history from this day to delete history for the date you selected. If you select a range of days and choose Delete history from this time period, you’ll delete the history for all of the days you’re viewing.
  • By individual location: Select an individual location from the list or map. In the bubble, choose to delete that past location from your history.

Google

 

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s